About Us

Province people

Introducing some of the people who guide and support the Society's work across Australia.

Provincial – Fr Quyen Vu SJ

Quyen entered the Society of Jesus in 1994, and undertook his novitiate at Pymble in Sydney. During his formation he spent time at Loyola Senior High School in Mount Druitt and St Aloysius’ College Milsons Point, and also did stints at the Jesuit-run school in Timor Leste.

He holds a Master’s in Education and Management from Boston College, and has spent the last decade building and establishing new Jesuit schools, first in Timor Leste and then in Cambodia.

Full Profile

Socius – Fr Paul Mullins SJ

Fr Paul joined the Society of Jesus in 1969 and was ordained priest in 1980.

He taught European History, English and Religion for the next thirty years in Jesuit Colleges in Australia. He also held a number of administrative roles, including Deputy Headmaster and Rector, along with the role of Superior in Jesuit communities.

In 2010, he was appointed Parish Priest at St Ignatius Parish in Norwood, as well as Superior of the Jesuit community.

Fr Paul was a consultor to the Provincial of the Australia Province of the Society of Jesus from October 2014 – November 2021. In December 2021 he was appointed Socius to the Provincial.

Province Treasurer – Fr Rob Davoren SJ

Fr Rob Davoren SJ became Province Treasurer in 2021. Previously he took over as Socius to the Jesuit Provincial in April 2018. He is the main Consultor and Executive Assistant to the Provincial.

Prior to his current role, Fr Davoren was Headmaster at St Ignatius’ College in Adelaide from 2007, and was the school’s Rector and CEO from 2014 to 2017.

Province Secretary – Fr Chris Horvat SJ

An old scholar of Saint Ignatius’ College, Adelaide, Fr Christopher Horvat SJ joined the Jesuits in February 1970. Over the years he has worked in Jesuit schools in Sydney and Adelaide (where he was involved in many musical performances) and in administration at the General Curia in Rome and the Provincial Office in Melbourne

He is currently living at Newman College, a Catholic residential college within the University of Melbourne, and working at the Provincial Office.

General Counsel – Fr Justin Glyn SJ

Fr Justin Glyn provides legal and canonical advice to the Province. He entered the Society of Jesus in 2009, beginning his novitiate in Pymble (Sydney) in 2009. He has worked with Jesuit Refugee Service in Sydney (especially accompanying asylum seekers and refugees in detention). He has also worked with older people, students and people with disabilities (including sitting on the Disability Advisory Committee of Melbourne City Council) and lectures seminarians in canon law.

He holds a Ph.D in international and administrative law as well as a Licentiate / Masters degree in Canon Law and has practised law in South Africa, New Zealand and Australia. He has also been researching and writing in the area of disability theology.

Provincial Assistants

The following assistants provide support to the Provincial in directing various aspects of the Society’s mission in Australia.

Communications Ministries – Fr Richard Leonard SJ

Education Ministries – Ms Nicki Patten

Higher Education – Fr Daniel Madigan SJ

Jesuit Formation – Fr Daniel Madigan SJ

Jesuit and Ignatian Spirituality Australia – Br Ian Cribb SJ

Pastoral and Diocesan Ministries – Ms Louise Wellington

Jesuit Social Ministries Australia & JCAP Representative – David White

Vocations – Fr Robin Koning SJ

Young Adult Ministry – Julian Butler SJ


Chairs of Boards and Councils

Jesuit Mission – Mr Nick Dunstan

Jesuit Refugee Service – Ms Eve Lester

Jesuit Social Services – Ms Patricia Faulkner

Redfern Jarjum College – Mr John Allen

Sevenhill Cellars – Mr Ted DePoi

St Aloysius College – Mr Michael Morgan

St Ignatius College Adelaide – Mr Sean Keenihan

St Ignatius College Riverview – Mr Greg Mackay

The Cardoner Network – Julian Butler SJ

Xavier College – Mr Tony Nunan


Province Office Staff

Director of Finance, Business Operations and Special Projects – Mr John Daly

General Manager, Financial Services – Mr Glenn Osmand

Finance Manager – Ms Rosalinda Polivka

Accountant – Ms Abby Huang

Executive Assistant to the Executive Director, Jesuit Education Australia; and
Executive Assistant to the Executive Officer, Jesuit Social Ministries Australia – Ms Janette Elliot

Executive Assistant to the Director of Finance, Business Operations and Special Projects – Ms Boli Meng

Manager Risk, Standards and Safety – Ms Annemaree Jones

Finance Officer – Ms Sabrina Xu

Administration and Reception – Ms Susie Adams

Research Assistant & Executive Assistant to the Provincial – Ms Nicole Ridler

Province Communications Manager – Mr David McMahon

Communications Officer – Social and Digital Media – Mr Janark Gray

Province Archivist – Fr Michael Head SJ

Assistant Archivist – Ms Elizabeth Parker